The Rhodoexplorer website aims to provide comprehensive access to published complete red algal genome sequences.

In addition, it is providing restricted access to red algal genomes that are being generated by several project at the Roscoff Biological Station, with the aim of later providing full public access to these genomes.

The following page provides some information about the completed and ongoing red algal genome projects in Roscoff that have contributed to this project.

The Gracilariaceae genome project

The Gracilariaceae genome project is sequencing the genome of four species from this family: Gracilaria caudata, Gracilaria chilensis, Gracilaria vermiculophylla and Gracilaria gracilis. These species are of interest for a number of aspects, including their life cycles and reproductive biology, as domesticated and cultivated species, as invasive species and for their characteristic cell walls. The Gracilariaceae genome project involves partners at the Roscoff Biological Station (France), the University of Sao Paulo (Brazil), Universidad Austral de Chile (Chile), the Virginia Institute of Marine Science Eastern Shore Laboratory (USA), the College of Charleston (USA), the Max Planck Institute in Tübingen (Germany), GEOMAR, Kiel (Germany) and the University of Oldenburg (Germany). The project is funded by the ANR infrastructures project Idealg and by the CNRS International Research Network program (DABMA project).


The project is funded by the ANR infrastructures project Idealg , by the CNRS International Research Network program (DABMA project). This project was funded by the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Alabama at Birmingham start-up funds to S.A. Krueger-Hadfield.



  • Lígia Ayres-Ostrock (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Jessica Beltran (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)
  • Guido Bonthond (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
  • Loraine Brillet-Guéguen (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Mariana Cabral de Oliveira (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Susana Coelho (Max Planck Institute for Biology, Tuebingen, Germany)
  • Erwan Corre (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Guillaume Cossard (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Christophe Destombe (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Sylvain Faugeron (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)
  • Elizabeth Ficko-Blean (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Olivier Godfroy (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Marie-Laure Guillemin (Universidad Austral de Chile)
  • Emma Lavaut (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Arthur Le Bars (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Fabiana Marchi (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Stéphane Mauger (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Gurvan Michel (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Estela Plastino (Maria Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Philippe Potin (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Delphine Scornet (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Erik Sotka (College of Charleston, USA)
  • Myriam Valero (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)
  • Florian Weinberger (GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforrschung, Kiel, Germany)